top of page

Swinburne University of Technology is a public research university based in Melbourne, Australia. George Swinburne founded it in 1908 as the Eastern Suburbs Technical College in order to serve those without access to further education in Melbourne's eastern suburbs. Its main campus is located in Hawthorn, a suburb of Melbourne, which is located 7.5 km from the Melbourne central business district.

In addition to its main Hawthorn campus, Swinburne has campuses in the Melbourne metropolitan area at Wantirna and Croydon as well as a campus in Sarawak, Malaysia. In the 2020 QS World University Rankings, Swinburne was ranked 43rd for art and design, making it one of the top art and design schools in Australia and the world.

In the 2019 Student Experience Survey, Swinburne recorded the eleventh highest student satisfaction rating out of all Australian universities, and the second highest student satisfaction rating out of all Victorian universities, with an overall satisfaction rating of 80.

Swinburne University of Technology has its origins in the Eastern Suburbs Technical College, which was established in 1908 in the Melbourne suburb of Hawthorn by George Swinburne. In 1913, the institution changed its name from Hawthorn College to Swinburne Technical College. It attained university status on 1 July 1992 with the passage of the Swinburne University of Technology Act.

bottom of page