top of page

Charles Sturt University (CSU) is an Australian multi-campus public university located in Queensland. Established in 1989, it was named in honor of Captain Charles Sturt, a British explorer who made expeditions into regional New South Wales and South Australia.

The University has multiple main campuses in Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst, Dubbo, Orange, Port Macquarie and Wagga Wagga. The University also has specialist campuses in Canberra, Goulburn, Manly and Parramatta. Courses are also delivered in conjunction with Study Group Australia at CSU Study Centers in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Wangaratta.

Charles Sturt University offers various Distance Education programs at Bachelor and Post-Graduate level as well as the Single Subject Study program. CSU also has various course delivery partnerships with several TAFE institutions across the country.

In 1998, CSU established the first Study Centre in Sydney and then in Melbourne in 2007. These study centers are operated by a private education group called Study Group Australia. On 1 January 2005, CSU formalized moves to assume control of the University of Sydney's Orange campus, which came into force on 1 January 2005.Between 2005 and 2015, CSU had expand an offshore campus in Burlington, Ontario in Canada. On July 2015, CSU "regretfully" ceased to operate its Ontario campus due to the legislative and regulatory environment in Ontario.

On 14 February 2011, CSU changed its logo. The sturt desert pea flower (Swainsona Formosa) is now stylized and made prominent, with the full name of the university as part of its logo. On 1 May 2012, a milestone was reached as CSU opened a new campus in Port Macquarie, CSU's first coastal, regional campus. This made Higher Education accessible to the Port Macquarie and the Hastings region. In 2013, the University implemented a gas engine cogeneration power plant to help minimize fuel costs and carbon emissions.

bottom of page